CCJA at a glance

The Common Court of Justice and Arbitration of the Organization for the Harmonization in Africa of Business Law (CCJA) is the key institution of OHADA. It wasinstalledin 1998 and made his first decisionsin 2001.

Since April 10, 2015, the CCJA consists of thirteenjudgeselected by the Council of Ministers of OHADA for a term of 7 years non-renewable. The Judgesshallelect a Chairman and twoVice-Presidents for a term of threeyears and nonrenewablehalf. The Court currently has threebedrooms (two of five judges and the third of threejudges). The Treaty of OHADA, supplemented by the Rulesbefore the CCJA, organizes the functioning of the Court and the status of itsjudges.

The Court has itsheadquarters in Abidjan, but cansit at anyother place in the territory of one of the seventeenMember States of the Organization. She has alreadyheld public hearings in severalMember States of the OHADA recentyears.